top of page

Apply for Margaret McNamara Education Grant For African Women to Study In South Africa

Brief Description

MMEG awards grants to women studying at accredited universities in the US and Canada, and selected universities in South Africa and Latin America

MMEG awards grants on a competitive basis to exceptional women studying at least part-time or full-time for the following academic term, at the universities below. Applicants are screened by an all-volunteer, independent selection committee, and grants are awarded by the Board of Directors by December every year. Applications are accepted from May 15 until September 14, each year.

  • University of Witwatersrand

  • University of Cape Town

  • University of Stellenbosch

  • University of Pretoria

  • University of the Free State


  • Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Be at least 25 years old at the time of application deadline

  • Be a national of a country listed on the MMEG Country Eligibility List

  • Be enrolled (not just accepted) at an accredited academic institution when submitting an application, and plan to be enrolled for a full academic term after award of the grant by the Board;

  • Not be related to a World Bank Group, International Monetary Fund or Inter-American Development Bank staff member or spouse


14, September 2020

For more information, click here


bottom of page