top of page

Apply for the Africa Initiative for Governance (AIG) 2020/21 Scholarships

Brief Description

AIG will every year, for five years starting in 2017, fund five scholarships for outstanding West Africans from all backgrounds who are passionate about the public sector, to pursue the Master of Public Policy at the Blavatnik School of Government , University of Oxford. Upon graduation, AIG Scholars will be expected to return to their home country and apply their learning experience as change agents in their country’s public sector. The AIG Scholarships are targeted at graduates between the ages of 25 and 35 with strong intellectual capability, outstanding academic achievements, leadership skills and a passion to contribute to the development of Africa’s public sector.


To be eligible for consideration for the award of an AIG Scholarship, you must: • Be a citizen of Nigeria or Ghana • Be between the ages of 25 and 35 years (must not be 36 years old by December 31, 2019) • Have a first-class or second-class upper undergraduate degree with honours (or equivalent international qualifications), as a minimum, in any discipline. For applicants with a degree from the USA, the minimum GPA sought is 3.7 out of 4.0 • Be preferably top 10% of graduating class (First, Second or Master’s Degree) - evidence to be provided • Provide evidence of game-changing leadership and resultant impact • Show skills and interests outside of academics (evidence to be provided)

Deadline is 23rd September, 2019

For more information, click here


bottom of page