top of page

Apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme to Study in the UK 2020

Brief Description

These scholarships are intended for students from developing countries who would not otherwise be able to afford to undertake Master’s level study in the UK, to gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their home countries.

There will be 7 awards offered between the University of Warwick and Commonwealth Scholarship Commission for entry in 2020/2021.

The Taught Masters courses offered for the academic year 2020/2021 by the University of Warwick in partnership with the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission are the following 7 courses only :

MA Gender and International Development

MA Internation Development

MSc Analytical Science and Instrumentation

MSc Biomedical Engineering

MSc Food Security

LLM International Development Law and Human Rights

MSc Humanitarian Engineering

Each scholarship will cover full tuition fees, offer a generous stipend, provide airfare to the UK and return home and an allowance for warm clothing.


To be eligible for this scholarship, you must:

▪ Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person;

▪ Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country;

▪ Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2020;

▪ By October 2020, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study;

▪ Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country;

▪ Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship;

For a list of eligible Commonwealth countries, please see the CSS website.

Deadline is 18th December 2019

For more information, click here


bottom of page