top of page

Apply for the Elsevier Awards For Early-career Women Scientists In Developing Countries 2020

Brief Description

The Elsevier Foundations calls for nominations from groups, academies and research institutes in order to celebrate research excellence of women scientists working and living in Africa, the Middle East, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean for the 2021 Elsevier Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World. Launched in 2013, the OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career Women Scientists reward and encourage women working and living in developing countries who are in the early stages of their scientific careers, having often overcome great challenges to achieve research excellence.


  1. Each winner receives a cash prize of USD 5,000 and is sponsored to attend the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), held every year in February*.

  2. The winners have presented their awards at a special networking ceremony, and have the possibility to attend workshops and sessions at the AAAS meeting, visit local laboratories and institutions, and attend a celebratory dinner organized by the Elsevier Foundation.

  3. The meeting is an important opportunity to establish contacts and collaboration networks with colleagues from different parts of the world.


Candidates must satisfy the following conditions:

  • The applicant must be a woman who has received her PhD in a scientific discipline within the previous ten years and is currently undertaking scientific research in one of the eligible fields below.

  • The 2021 Awards for Physical Sciences are offered in the fields of Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics. Any combination of these fields (i.e. interdisciplinary) is acceptable.

  • In addition, the applicant must have lived and worked in one of the following science and technology lagging countries for at least 5 of the last 15 years*:

  • Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem. Rep. Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


September 30, 2020

For more information, click here

bottom of page