top of page

Hasselt University Master Of Transportation Sciences Scholarships 2024/2025


The Master of Transportation Sciences is happy to announce we now have a call for participants for the ICP Scholarship 2024. The International Course Programme (ICP) anually offers twelve students from developing countries a scholarship to obtain an MSc in Transportation Sciences (specialization: Road Safety). The programme takes two years and has a specific focus on road safety in developing countries.

Students are trained to identify transportation and road safety issues in order to create innovative solutions by using an integrative approach based on three pillars: the individual (dealing with the human behaviour in traffic and how to influence it e.g. intentional and unintentional riskful behaviour such as drunk driving or cognitive impairments), the environment (e.g. creating self-explaining roads and infrastructure that minimizes crash impact) and the society (e.g. societal norms and translation into policy and enforcement measures). Road safety in this programme is approached as a cross-border field, incorporating elements of psychology, economy, urban planning, environmental studies, engineering and more.


  • Monthly allowance: € 1150/month (for cost of meals, transport, personal expenses and accommodation)

  • 1- time payment for indirect travel costs: € 150

  • 1- time payment for logistical allowance: € 850

  • Insurance, international travel and tuition fee


With the International Course Programme, VLIR-UOS financially supports Master of Transportation Sciences English master’s programmes focussing on development-related themes. The scholarship sponsor has stipulated a number of eligibility criteria applicants must meet, e.g.:

  • The maximum age of applicants should be 35 on 1st January 2024

  • Only people from the below 31 countries are eligible for a scholarship

    • Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, DR Congo, Ethiopia, Guinea, Cameroon, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Niger

    • Asia: Cambodia, Philippines, Indonesia, Palestinian Territories, Vietnam

    • Latin America: Bolivia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, Nicaragua, Peru

Deadline: February 1, 2024

Click here for more details.


bottom of page