top of page

The Georg Forster Research Award for Researchers From Developing Countries


The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation presents up to six Georg Forster Research Awards each year to internationally outstanding researchers from developing and emerging countries in recognition of their academic record to date.

The research award was named for renowned German ethnologist Georg Forster (1754–1794) and is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development.


The scholarship research award provides the following to selected applicants;

  • The award value of €60,000 and an invitation to conduct a research project of their choice at a research institution in Germany in cooperation with specialist colleagues there.

  • The award enables a total stay of between six months and a full year, which can be split into multiple stays.

  • If required, further funding of up to €25,000 will be provided to finance academic collaboration – in particular to cover the costs of attending academic conferences, of material resources such as specialist literature or scientific equipment at the home institution, or of including junior researchers.


Applicants should meet the following;

  • demonstrate outstanding international reputation as a researcher

  • have research findings with a demonstrable impact that extends beyond the immediate field of work

  • should possess multiplier effect in research, teaching, and science management and in other development-related processes outside the research field

Application Deadline: 31st October, 2022

For more information click here


bottom of page