top of page

University Of Birmingham Commonwealth Shared Scholarships For Developing Commonwealth Countries 2024


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and UK universities, including the University of Birmingham, to jointly support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.


The award will cover:

  • Full tuition fees

  • Maintenance stipend

  • Air fare to and from the United Kingdom

  • Immigration Health Surcharge costs

  • A one-off arrival allowance payment of approximately £450

  • Thesis expenses of £225

  • Study travel grant up to £200

  • Excess baggage allowance for books up to 10kg on the return flight


Candidates should be commencing a course in September 2024.

Candidates must also certify that they:

  • are nationals of a Commonwealth developing country, and not at present living or studying in a developed country;

  • have not undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country;

  • are themselves, or through their families, unable to pay to study in the United Kingdom;

  • agree to return to their own country to work or study as soon as the award ends. The commission will only consider requests to extend leave to remain in the UK post-award for those wishing to move from Masters to PhD study. Strict conditions will apply.

  • DFID requires that the University certifies when submitting its shortlist of candidates that they are sufficiently proficient in the English language to cope with the course for which they have applied. This will normally mean that you will have to have satisfied any requirements concerning competence in the English language which are a condition of your offer of admission.

Deadline: December 14, 2023

Click here for more details.


bottom of page