top of page

University Of Edinburgh Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2024/2025 For Developing Countries


The University of Edinburgh Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and UK universities, including the University of Edinburgh, to jointly support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.


The award is financed jointly by the University of Edinburgh and DfID. The award will cover: (i) All tuition fees; (ii) Air fare to and from the United Kingdom; (iii) Expenses for accommodation and maintenance.


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country

  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country

  • Be available to start their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024

  • By September 2024, hold a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honours standard, or a lower second-class degree (2:2) and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)

  • Not have studied or worked for more than one (academic) year or more in a high-income country

  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK university without this Scholarship

  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format

Deadline: December 14, 2023

Click here for more details.


bottom of page