top of page

Apply for the Margaret McNamara Education Grant for Women in Developing Countries by September 14

Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Be at least 25 years old at time of application deadline (see specific regional program application below);

  • Be a national of a country listed on the MMEG Country Eligibility List (except for the Trinity Washington University program);

  • Be enrolled (not just accepted) at an accredited academic institution when submitting application; and plan to be enrolled for a full academic term after award of the grant by the Board;

  • Not be related to a World Bank Group, International Monetary Fund or Inter-American Development Bank staff member or spouse;


Applications for Africa program are accepted from May 15 - September 14. Queries may be addressed to during this period. Decisions will be announced by December.

In addition to the above criteria, an applicant must already be enrolled part time (minimum of 2 courses per semester or term) or full time at one of the universities listed below, and be enrolled for the following academic year (January to December or September to May) at one of the following universities:

  • University of the Witwatersrand,

  • University of Cape Town

  • University of Stellenbosch

  • University of Pretoria

  • University of the Free State

Applicants applying from eligible countries other than South Africa must already hold a study permit for South Africa. Estimated expenses should be calculated and expressed in Rand

Remember to read the Application Checklist & FAQs before applying and select the   "Africa program" in the first question of the application. If the program name  does not appear, the program may be closed to new applications.


bottom of page